Riverview Model UN Takes Home 8 Awards, Including Best Small Delegation at Michigan Conference!

Over the weekend of January 11-14, nine members of the Riverview Model UN Team braved a winter storm, brutally cold temperatures, and the challenge of over 700 students from 28 midwestern states at the 37th annual University of Michigan Model United Nations Conference (MUNUM).  The team set out to defend its Best Small Delegation win at MUNUM last season and performed well under tremendous challenges from other strong delegates.  During the 4-day conference, our students debated the legality of the Consumer Protection Act of the early 1900's, viability of the electric car movement of the 2030's, significance of the United Fruit Company in Guatemala, and how to keep the peace in 1870's Dodge City among other topics.  The team earned 8 total awards for the weekend, 7 individual awards and a second straight Best Small School Delegation Award at Michigan.  Members of the winning team are Seniors - Callie Harden, Cohen Hoolahan, Georgia Tsambis, and Brandon Williams; Juniors - Renton Biondich, Chiara Brun, Molly Morrissey, and Drew Ogrodowski; and Sophomore Murphy Hawk.  


Students winning Individual Awards were:


Chiara Brun - First Place Best Delegate as Senator Murphy Foster in the Consumer Protection Committee


Georgia Tsambis - First Place Best Delegate in the Czech Revolution Midnight Crisis Committee


Georgia Tsambis - First Place Best Delegate as Abelardo Ibarra in the Angolan Civil War Committee


Renton Biondich - Second Place Outstanding Delegate as Vincent Cobee of Citroen in the European Automobile Manufacturers Association


Callie Harden - Second Place Outstanding Delegate as Valentina Lopez in the United Fruit Company Ad Hoc Committee


Brandon Williams - Second Place Outstanding Delegate as Patrick Sughrue in the Dodge City Committee


Drew Ogrodowski - Third Place Honorable Delegate as King Victor Emmanual I in the Congress of Vienna


Congratulations to the team for an amazing weekend.  The 8 weekend awards increase the total for the year to 35 in our 4 competitive conferences.  The team is next in action at the University of Toronto in February.

Print This Article
View text-based website